Well, crap…

Things are a bit disorganized at the moment because I suffered a catastrophic hard-drive crash… Next (and final) step is to see how much a professional data recovery service will cost. Yeah, it’s a business expense, but I don’t actually make that much money compared to the mountain of student debt, plus things like the mortgage, etc.

And yes, I know, I know I should have been backing things up better – that is also a story in and off itself. Several stories actually, most of which involve HIPPA requirements. That’s actually not nearly so hard to deal with these days…

But, the insult to the injury here is that I’ve been making a concerted effort to get rid of paper – as in get rid of all the extra printouts of things that generally just occupy space. So, many of the things that I used to have an extra hardcopy of?

Eaten by the shredder and gone, or otherwise simply tossed out.

C’est la vie!

If things can’t be recovered then I’ll be forced to reconstruct things. Some of this is a huge pain in the ass – and some things simply won’t be. I can’t remember everything, let alone what I might or might not have tucked in away on my hard drive. Some of what I end up reconstructing I may have to simply decide what format in – some were Publisher files, many were in Word, some in Excel. I’m certain that not all of them were organized as well as they could have been.

So, while I’m hopeful for recovery, I’m also looking at this as an opportunity – no matter that it will come with a fair amount of work.

D.

Categories: FYI | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Well, crap…

  1. Try recuva. It worked for me when my hard drive died. No guarantees, but its free.

    • Yeah, it’s a hardware fail not a software fail. Can’t even get it to power up, blah blah blah… it’s annoying to say the least – ok, more than annoying. It’s going to take a great deal of work to rebuild if I can’t recover anything. But thanks for the suggestion!

      D.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

