Samhain Thoughts of the Unnatural

One of the things occupying my attention this October was the amazingly successful Kickstarter for Delta Green. I’m always of two minds to crowdfunding Pagan Publishing, and the craziness that has accompanied both Call of Cthulhu 7E and the various add-ons for the Masks of Nyarlathotep doesn’t make me less inclined to question the think hard about Kickstarting gaming items.

The family was also a backer for Traveller 5E for that matter…

One the one hand, while I’ve crowdfunded the Paganistas for, well, forever it seems. They do have a horrible, horrible tendency to have very badly delayed releases. Heck, they still have a massively delayed previous Kickstarter that doesn’t seem close to fulfilment.

That said, they have always delivered (even if years late), and their products are some of the best written RPG material out there.

I also have to say that I am really digging not just what we’ve seen of CoC 7E, but also what Delta Green the standalone RPG looks like. It actually seems like a somewhat simplified and stripped down CoC 7E with a somewhat more evocative Sanity system. I like the “Unnatural” skill as opposed to the “Cthulhu Mythos” skill for purely aesthetic reasons (as they are mechanically identical), and while I haven’t crunched my way through the details of Killing Damage I’m generally trusting of the designers for it to work the way that they want it to.

So, while I may have some catching up on the 5E game to do as far as posting and campaign content, I think I may mine the pages of documents I have for my CoC campaign(s) for content as a way to make sure that things are getting posted regularly.

D.

Categories: FYI | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

