First new official rules for 5e – and they are free!

So, I “picked up” the free PDF of the Elemental Evil Player’s Companion and on the one hand I like it a fair amount and on the other hand I’m kind of disappointed. The new races are fine, though the Genasai are very different in my game world, and I’ve never used the Snervnebblinglinelfnanfa….. whatever they are, Deep Gnomes – and while I’ve never used the …bird people… as a race in my game world, I can see them having a place (I have other flying races that have played a much more significant role – Winged Folk anyone?). I certainly never had the Goliath’s, but I actually like them – just not sure about that damage reduction ability (it seems very fiddly to me).

The meat is the new spells, especially the new cantrips and the Investitures. I’m very happy with everything I’ve seen there and will actually be updating a couple of bits here and there on other races abilities to reflect these new cantrips.

My big disappointment is the lack of character class options – specifically the lack of Cleric domains and Wizard schools with an elemental focus. The Monk could also have seen some love here, along with the Sorcerer and the Warlock, but there was no love to be had for anyone.

So sad.

In any case that just means that I need to belly up to the bar and come up with my own Cleric domains for the En Khoda Theos Kirk (given that I have a cleric of the Great Dragon of the Air in the game now), and start thinking about how I would handle the Wizard’s Arcane Tradition (and a Warlock Patron and a Sorcerer bloodline).

That said, I’m really looking forward to gaming this week after recovering from the plague last session and it ending up being cancelled.

TTFN!

D.

Categories: Campaign Development, Game Design, House Rules | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “First new official rules for 5e – and they are free!

  1. I’m sure this is just a taste of the new Player’s books coming out soon.

    • I expect there will be a compiled Player’s Handbook 2 at some point, but it’s certainly not on the released schedule at the moment and this is explicitly the replacement for the what was going to be a player-oriented hardback to match the DM’s Elemental Evil adventure. I’m going to wait to see a copy before I buy one of those – the last one was so bad I’m not sure I want to spend the money unless it comes with good stuff in it.

      D.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

