New (Old) Modules…

I recently used a gift card from Yule to purchase a bunch older modules off the Internet, some of which I’d owned before and some of which I haven’t. I’m still in the process of rebuilding some of my old library, though there are certainly things that I owned that I have no need or desire to own again, and this has been a pretty enjoyable process as they have come in the mail and I’ve had the chance to open them up and look at them again…

But this is what I’ve picked up in this last order, plus some other things I’ve picked up in the last couple of months:

Amusingly, given the recent postings about it, I picked up G1-2-3 Against The Giants because all I still had was an old copy of G2 and the party will be reaching the point where I can start thinking about using these soon.

I also picked up copies of S4 The Lost Caverns of Tsojanth and WG4 The Forgotten Temple of Tharizdun, both of which I had somehow gotten rid of. Great modules, but I was actually surprised to see the “Character Levels 5/6-10” on the cover! My memory of these were of modules for more like the GDQ series, but re-reading them I’m not certain why that is my memory. Possibly because when I ran them they were crazy-nasty, but possibly because the rewards within them have the same sort of power-creep that most people OSR decry in “Silver Age” AD&D and ignore everywhere else…

The “Illithid Trilogy” of A Darkness Gathering, Masters of Eternal Night, and Dawn of the Overmind. I remember loving these when they came, really just as I was leaving AD&D behind (or just after I did, now that I think about it). The Illithids were pretty much always the “Big Baddies from the Core” (points for the extremely obscure gaming reference…) in my game, and while they’ve changed a great deal as the Ichneumon Vorre, these modules could actually provide a decent platform to play with them a bit.

City System! I am a sucker for supplements on cities that come with decent maps, let alone sets of multiple poster maps. This is a boxed set with maps for Waterdeep in the Forgotten Realms. I actually already owned a copy of this but was able to score another copy really cheap, so I did so. I’ll pretty much buy something like this no matter what the game system is because so little of what goes into running a city adventure is the game stats – it’s the flavor text.

I also recently picked up the OSRIC hardcover, plus a copy of ITA The Andewan Legacy. I’m not so sure about the module, in some ways it’s decent, but I’m never a fan of the sort of “gotcha” ending that there is in the end. Plus, it almost turns into more of a pain in the ass for me as the DM to figure out what to do next. If I’m inspired great, if I’m not I’m setting myself and the players up for a crummy game.

I also broke down and bought some of the Pathfinder modules and products. I was a bit unsure about this, given how strong opinions run about the products and how “railroady” they are…

I found a great price on the Council of Thieves Map Folio and picked that up. I have nothing else for this set of modules and I don’t care. A couple of city maps, and a set of location maps (including many large buildings) and I’m happy – though I have to say that just based on the maps it looks like a kind of cool set of modules.

The Adventurers Armory – because I have no problem with another gear book. It was cheap, and it has a couple a neat ideas in there.

I also picked up three of the stand-alone Pathfinder modules, Realm of the Fellnight Queen, The Ruby Phoenix Tournament, and Carrion Hill. I have to say that nothing in these has me interested in picking Pathfinder the game, but I’d be happy to buy more modules. The weakest module (or perhaps the one that I’ll have to do the most conversion on) is the Tournament, but it actually looks like it could be a fun adventure to drop in with a minimum of fuss when it comes to campaign continuity. Fellnight Queen is also one that might need some work, but I do have an actual realm of Faerie in my setting so this isn’t as hard as it might be. It also looks like it could be fun and could make a nice drop-in with a minimum of fuss. Of the three Carrion Hill is the best, it has a marvelous and explicit Lovecraftian vibe to the whole thing and could be quite creepy to run. I’m really looking forward to running this one as it fits into certain elements of my game world pretty well.

On another front, I managed to score copies of DGP’s Megatraveller Journal issues #1 and #4, both of which I’ve been looking for at a reasonable price pretty much since they came out and I missed them. Issue #1 was sans that poster map, but I’m ok with that – mostly I wanted the content (like the Battledress article!). DGP really put out the best of the Traveller material there for a few years, and I know that I was not the only person who was sorry to see them go.

D.

Categories: FYI, OSR, Review | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

