Gaming Yuletide…

So, all-in-all, this was a light year for gaming goodness.

One thing I recieved that was fun was a Dungeon Tiles Master Set: Dungeon – a welcome addition to my old Chaosium “Fantasy Paths” boxed set and my old Games Workshop “Halls of Horror: Gothic Floor Plans” set. These are quite sturdy and think and look like that will last at least as long as my other boxes (which, I guess, is 20+ years now).

We’re a family of bibliophiles here, so it’s pretty common to see multiple books get unwrapped for everyone – though both my son and my spouse tend to get video games as well (which cuts out on the book budget a bit this year my son received Fallout: Las Vegas from KT and Skyrim from us, while my dear spouse has a date with a hot Italian assassin later)

My three books this year were two I wanted and one that was a surprise. The surprise, from KT, is The Viral Storm by Nathan Wolfe, an excellent book as gaming fodder (and one that fulfils my interest in the spread of infectious disease transmission, a somewhat professional interest). The first of the books I wanted is Rick Lai’s Chronology of Shadows: A Timeline of The Shadow’s Exploits. This is total fodder for my Call of Cthulhu game which is quite pulpy in flavor. The second book is Michael Chabon’s Gentlemen of the Road – a book that sounds like a good AD&D campaign from the reviews.

I also have one other gift in the works that hasn’t arrived yet, since it literally is being shipped from Mongolia and hasn’t arrived yet. I’ll post when I can add a link or pictures or something. It’s the present from my son, and he came up with something quite cool that I look forward to sharing!

D.

Categories: FYI | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

